Real Talk II: Stretch Marks

Pregnancy changes you in so many ways. The first change you notice, above all, is the physical change. It’s a challenging period, where you feel you lose a lot of control over your body. To stay fit and healthy, I exercised through most of my pregnancy, so losing the baby weight was not my main issue. The thing that I was most concerned with during and after my pregnancy was and is stretch marks. I got some pretty severe war scars to show. And while, I know I shouldn’t care, be superficial and should proudly wear my badge of honor, they just make me a little self-conscious. I’ve googled solutions and there are many modern techniques, which help improve the appearance, such as laser surgery. However, since I’m brown-skinned, this type of treatment wouldn’t work for me. I don’t want to go under the knife and would like to find some natural cures to improve the appearance of stretch marks.

I’ve tried cocoa butter, shea butter, aloe vera, jojoba, coconut oil, massaging the area, rubbing alien gunk all over my belly– you get my point. Nothing seems to work. They don’t look as harsh as they did after the birth and they have seemed to lighten a bit. However, what I want to know for my female readers who have children, did the appearance get better over time or is it just something we have to live with.

After rigorous searches on the web for dark-skinned tricks for combatting stretch marks and looking through some pregnant vlogger videos–I got nada! This makes me think either people of darker hues, just aren’t falling victim to stretch marks or perhaps they’re just not talking about it.

Have any of your experienced stretch marks? What tricks did you try to fight them and did their appearance improve overtime?

In the meantime, I will be sporting a one piece this summer until I’m a little more comfortable. It’s a good excuse for me to shop for a new bathing suit. I’m excited, because I didn’t realize how many cute bathing suits there are today. Some of my favorites from Asos.com:

Image 1 of ASOS Plunge Halter Swimsuit

7 thoughts on “Real Talk II: Stretch Marks

  1. I’m in my early 20s and I’ve had stretch marks since I was like 11 and as I went through puberty I got even more when my body started developing. My late grandmother and mother both had stretch marks so it’s also something that runs in my family. They don’t really bother me, only when I wear a bikini and I get a bit of a tan and it takes forever to go away. Our bodies are canvasses for our life story.

  2. Ooh, I love that blue one. I’ve been looking for a one piece for this summer, too, not because of stretch marks, but because of my c-section scar. I think that blue one would make me feel good.

  3. As I read this I thought, ‘do I have stretch marks?’ lol I don’t even notice anymore. I don’t have children so the ones I do have are from puperty, but looking at my mum and sisters who have had children, they do have them on their tummies though they’ve faded with time. I think improved muscle tone would make them look better, but that is easier said than done. I’m not sure you can get rid of them completely, even with Bio oil. And since you’ve made me scritinize myself, I don’t notice mine because they’re on my hips and stretched out.

    • Oh no I don’t want to make you scrutinize. I have stretch marks on my hips too from growing. Pregnancy stretch marks are just a lot more noticeable bc they literally look like tears in the skin. Looks like I better start working on that muscle tone! Thx!

  4. There’s a website that I get my swimsuits from called hydrochic.com. I have pregnancy stretch marks by my hoohaa (why in the world there? I have no clue! Lol) Like you mentioned, pregnacy stretch marks look like tears in the skin. The ones I have on my thighs and butt from puberty look like light, faded lines instead. Over time you will get used to them. Especially if you have a husband who could care less, like mine lol good luck! 🙂

Leave a comment