Who snatched my edges though?

Pregnancy, that’s who. The dreaded day has come. For a couple of months I thought I had escaped its ugly grip. Thought I’d continue living my life and motherhood with that thick head of hair and intact edges I’d come to appreciate. Think again! postpartum shedding is no joke people. I mean, I literally watched what felt like half my hair collect in my bathtub when I washed my hair two weeks ago. Not gonna lie, I kind of ugly cried.

My hair is still very dense, so it doesn’t look thinned out. However, my temples and edges are really thin. See: that horrifying picture of Naomi Campbell that was going around the web, if you haven’t already. I’ve heard this is normal, as during pregnancy, hormones send your hair into a growth phase and it sheds less. After birth that all changes. It’s kind of scary, I thought at one point, Id emerge from the shower bald.

The thing that bugs me most is the fact that most of the shedding comes from my edges and temples. So for the moment, I’m sporting comb overs, comb forwards and comb all arounds to manage that situation. I don’t pull my hair back completely anymore . And since I don’t really have the time to come up with an anti-shedding regimen for the time being I just use some quick fixes.

So I thought I’d share my quick fixes:

  • Be gentle – try conditioners with a lot of slip or mud wash, finger detangle or just detangle gently.
  • Stretch – Keep your hair in gentle, stretched styles. This makes detangling easier. Wash n gos increase tangles, which could lead to breakage and more shedding.
  • Essential oils and massage – Massage a little diluted peppermint or tea tree essential oils into your temples or throw some in your shampoo or hair wash.
  • Wash regularly – wash your hair once per week. The longer you go between washes the more shed hairs collect. You still probably lose the same amount, but psychologically it’s easier to see less hair go down the drain.
  • Comb over, forward and all around – It’s like a mini-makeover. Suddenly, you’ll have people asking you. Did you do something different with your hair? Why yes, I’ve essentially styled it in a bird nest to hide my balding temples.
  • Relax – Easier said than done. However, if you have a free 10 – 20 minutes per day, use this time to clear your mind and think positive thoughts. I do this just before going to bed and in the shower.
  • Inside out – Drink plenty of water and eat your veggies and fruits
  • Exercise to get increase circulation – I incorporate my baby into my fitness routine (peek-a-boo crunches/sit-ups, 14lb reps with my baby as my weights, long walks with the stroller, squats to calm a crying baby).

Well, pregnancy hair was beautiful while it lasted. I guess I got used to losing only one or two strands of hair during that phase. #youdontknowhowgoodyouhaveituntilitsgone

What do you do to combat postpartum shedding or any shedding for that matter?

4 thoughts on “Who snatched my edges though?

  1. After I had my son I had a puff like no other, then Jan came and we both lost hair him at the back ofnhisnhead and me at my edges. I cried cause I felt like I was going bald ( my hair isn’t dense on my edges) and it showed. I am still doing what I can to regrow them and thicken them up. Its was a terrible experience. Just takes time to fill in and grow.

  2. When you do your searches, look for stuff that is recommended by the dermatologist, look up the active ingredients and read the info of what makes it work and try it out. Watch out for creams that have harmful chemicals that have been banned in other countries. I did a brief search and found TriLASTIN-SR Maximum Strength Stretch Mark Cream. It says that it is available for all skin types and has a 60 day risk free trial, so I guess if you try it, you may send it back for a refund if it doesn’t work.

  3. Pingback: Shiny Beach Waves | low porosity hair care

Leave a Reply

