Shiny Beach Waves

So, if you follow my blog, you know that I’m experiencing postpartum shedding. I’m not letting it get me down, as dramatic as I sounded in the earlier post. It’s just a phase and I know it’ll pass. The past couple of days, I tried pulling out shed hairs every day. This has reduced tangling, matting and frizz.

Friday night I decided to give my hair a thorough cleanse. I was long overdue for a wash. I decided to do a semi-clarifying shampoo with Giovanni Triple Treat Shampoo. This time I tried something different and put conditioner on my soaking wet ends, then proceeded to shampoo my scalp. I gave my scalp a vigorous scrub with the pads of my fingers to break up dirt and build-up. Shampooing my conditioned hair made detangling easier and left my hair more moisturized– win-win situation! After this I put on Aussie Moist 3 Minute Repair (amazing deep conditioner, btw) and added coconut oil on top of this (see posts: 1, 2 ,3 on reverse oil rinsing). My shed hairs of course flowed down the drain like a stream of water, but better out of my hair than tangled in my hair. Note: since I’m experiencing extreme shedding, I’m back to washing my hair in 4 sections. It makes detangling more manageable.

For the styling phase, I simply applied a generous amount of KCKT leave-in and applied Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine. My sister forgot her bottle here on her last visit, so I just decided to give it a try. After this, I installed four chunky twists in each section. This is my lazy, wavy twist out method….fewer twists and less time (see post on Beach Waves). I then sat under my hooded dryer to let the leave-in penetrate and dry my hair half-way. The next day, I was left with a less frizzier look than usual and my hair was remarkably shinier. My hair has been quite dull the past couple of weeks. I credit the shiny results this week to: the clarifier, meticulously removing all my shed hairs, reverse oil rinsing and perhaps the Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine. I’ll give this method another try to see if I get the same results.

The weeks prior, because I was low on time, I tried co-washing for two weeks. I don’t know why I never learn my lesson, but co-washing just doesn’t yield good results for me. I guess I’m always revisiting past routines that failed in hopes that it suddenly will work again. Do you find yourself too trying things again that consistently yielded poor results in the past?

20140413-093732.jpg20140413-093744.jpg

 

20140413-093751.jpg

9 thoughts on “Shiny Beach Waves

  1. When you co-wash are you using a silicone free conditioner? Apparently that’s the key if you subscribe to the curly girl method. Of course if there’s anything I’ve learned its that not everything works for everybody when going natural.

  2. Your hair looks very pretty, thick, and healthy. My daughter lost a ton of hair after the baby. I credit it to suddenly stopping her phenomenal prenatal care, which was all natural health. I hope you keep up your vitamins, etc. I think shedding is natural. It happened to me! But I think it can be minimized.

    I make the same goof ups all the time: sleeping on a fro is my kryptonite!

    • Thank you! And I agree, the shedding is natural. I only took prenatals for my first 3 months and don’t take them now. I try to eat 60% raw to make sure I get the vitamins I need. Lol @ your kryptonite!

Leave a Reply

