Rhassoul vs Bentonite Clay

Rhassoul Clay Bentonite Clay
Ingredients Clay found in the Atlas Mts. High percentage of silica, magnesium, potassium, and calcium

 

Volcanic ash sediments, has a high percentage of silica and iron
Uses Detox, face mask, skin treatment, cleanser, conditioner

 

Detox, face mask, skin treatment, cleanser
Slip (1: terrible – 5 great) 5

Nothing makes detangling as easy as rhassoul clay. My curls come out defined, smooth and clumped

 

3

My hair wasn’t as easy to comb through

Softness 5

Gives me HIH syndrome

3.5

My hair was soft after, but I still felt I had to follow-up with a conditioner, as it wasn’t as soft as I’d like it to be.

 

Preparation 4.5

Water, a little aloe or vinegar, mix and apply. Although my mix is always slightly runnier than I’d like.

 

3

This was very awkward to mix, the clay swells up as soon as water hits it and the mixture was really thick.

Appearance of hair 5

This always gives me a nice healthy shine

4

My hair looked very clean and shiny, although on the 3rd day it looked a little waxy to me.

 

Would I recommend this for low porosity hair Definitely, this stuff is golden! In my low porosity holy grail products I’d recommend it for an occasional hair cleanse/detox, but I don’t think I’ll add this to my list of low porosity must-haves.

16 thoughts on “Rhassoul vs Bentonite Clay

  1. Thanks for this. I keep meaning to try rhassoul clay on my hair but haven’t got round to getting some. I’ll add it to my Amazon basket ASAP.

  2. I have been using Rhassoul Clay in my MHM. I LOVE IT!!! My curls are defined and myhairitage is soft. I am really suffering from HIHS. I need to wear mittens to keep my hands out of my hair! If you have lo po hair and are looking to get your hair healthier, this clay is wort a try I your hair care regimen,

  3. I totally get this comparison. I prefer rhassoul also because it goes better with my preferred mix ins, such as coconut milk, truffle treats, cocoa butter, shea butter. I add stuff to bentonite too, but I feel like I “must” add conditioner too.

    I do love my first batch of DIY toothpaste made from bentonite. I won’t buy toothpaste again!!!

      • Hi!!! Try this! I’ll return to thread soon!!

        HOMEMADE TOOTHPASTE RECIPE | REMINERALIZING
        A refreshing homemade toothpaste recipe that the entire family will love! Safe for kids to use!
        INGREDIENTS
        1/2 c. filtered water (Click to see where I buy my filters)
        1/4 c. bentonite clay (Click to see where I buy my bentonite clay)
        2 TBS. calcium/magnesium powder (Click to see where I buy my calcium/magnesium powder)
        3 TBS. coconut oil (Click to see where I buy my coconut oil)
        1/4 tsp. real salt (Click to see where I buy my real salt)
        1/4 tsp. baking soda (Click to see where I buy my baking soda)
        10 drops trace minerals (Click to see where I buy my trace minerals)
        20 drops OnGuard essential oil blend (Click to see where I buy essential oils)
        10 drops Peppermint essential oil (Click to see where I buy my essential oils)
        Stevia (to taste – go slow, a tiny bit can go a long way!) (Click to see where I buy Stevia)
        INSTRUCTIONS
        Mix all ingredients in a food processor until smooth and no more bumps.
        Store in a glass mason jar or a silicone squeeze tube (here’s where I bought my squeeze tube)for up to 3 months.
        By DaNelle Wolford

  4. I’ve been natural 5 years and yesterday was the first time I tried rhassoul clay on my low po hair. I saw and felt great results immediately after I washed it out. My hair was clean, moisturized, shiny, felt strengthened, and detangling was a breeze. Did I mention the curl definition!!! This is by far the best treatment to remove buildup from low po hair. I had previously wanted to cut my hair off because it was just blah, but this treatment literally gave my hair “life.” I should have taken before and after pics.

    • Yeah! I love comments like these. I’m so happy you enjoyed the rhassoul clay. I felt like that the first time I used it too. I was like “why didn’t anyone tell me about this holy grail product!!” That’s why I’m always posting about it. =)

Leave a comment