Leave-Out: Naked Hair

Lately, my hair has been in such a bad state guys. It has been dry, lifeless and dull. No matter what I do. My wash and go experiment last week– total failure. My day two hair was helmet-y, lackluster and undefined. I tried revisiting Curlformers to try something different, but I ended up with a horrible set. Not even worth blogging about. And not just that… a total waste of time. I did get a good twist out, from my stretched, curl-former style. So, I liken them to curl stretchers more than formers.

As many of you know I often praise my all-star hair care product, rhassoul clay on this blog. Each time I use it, I’m left with amazingly hydrated, plump coils and curls. Sometimes, I’m almost afraid to use a leave-in, for fear of reversing all the goodness that comes from using the rhassoul. Most times, I just forego this idea and add my leave-in. My hair does change slightly. I notice slight frizz, weighed down curls and a little less clumping. Well, last night after washing my hair at an ungratefully late hour, I decided to skip the leave-in.

I’d just followed my shampoo and protein treatment, with a rhassoul mask and my hair was on fleek (I’ve been dying to use this expression). Any way, I took a plunge after some hesitation and lightly coated my hair with coconut oil, concentrating mostly mid-shaft down to my ends. Then, I twisted my hair, sat under a bonnet dryer for a short time, wrapped and went to sleep. What I woke up to?

Extremely soft, moisturized hair that held the curls nicely. I was absolutely thrilled. It’s the end of the day and my hair is still soft and moisturized. I’ll probably add some leave-in to my hair, when it feels dry, but for now, I’m very content with its current state.

Some things I noticed about my hair sans leave-in:

  1. drying time was much faster
  2. it was bouncier than usual
  3. it feels softer and more hydrated than it ever did

If I’m on to something here, this means major savings for my wallet and a faster routine. Stay tuned. Maybe my fine, but dense low porosity hair, just does not like heavy cream based products.

Have you every skipped the leave-in conditioner?

Speaking of rhassoul clay. I’ll be giving away a bag of organic rhassoul clay to a reader based in Europe, US or Canada. To enter, subscribe to the blog, comment on at least two posts on this blog. Entries close the 25th of February.

Good luck!

IMG_0513

IMG_0508

IMG_0512

IMG_0511

28 thoughts on “Leave-Out: Naked Hair

  1. Annabel your hair looks WONDERFUL! Of all the pictures you’ve posted, this has to be the best! And I’m SO happy for you. Did you apply the Coconut oil to damp, wet or practically dry hair? This article has come just at the right time for me. 4years 11days natural, and only 2inches of hair on my head to show for it. My natural hair journey has just been an absolute nightmare! 😫 I’m so surprised I didn’t give up (shows how bad I want this). But I discovered a LONG time ago that my hair doesn’t absorb ANY leave-ins. And having tried Rhassoul also (even your method), just left my hair puffy and starchy dry. BUT, I decided to try it again 2 weeks ago with conditioner and honey, and my my my… SO impressed! I’ve done it again since (thinking it was a fluke), and again lovely SOFT, CLEAN coily hair (despite damage from damaging acidic ACV scalp cleanses!) So, I’m off to the Barbers now to get the dry lifeless ends cut off, and am going to start again. But after all this time, I’ve recently come to realise that the best leave-in for MY hair, is just plain old water and glycerine, forget all this ph nonsense! Works wonders! Hair is lovely and soft, and stays moisturised for days. And as you rightly said, dries in no time.i then seal with an oil of choice (currently Organic Macadamia oil – hair is feeling this baby!), and then finishing with a very light cream (LOC) method. So thanks ever so for your unexpected encouragement, and here’s to much happier healthier natural hair days ahead! Better late than never as they say 😉

    • Aw thanks so much! Is say my hair was very damp, when I applied it. Congrats on being natural for four years. You’re right, it takes a lot of work, trial and error to figure out what works. I still wouldn’t trade it for the world. Even on days where I think it’d just be easier to relax my hair. I like the sound of your regimen, I can’t go near glycerin though it’s very dry where I live, I don’t think that’d work for me. Have fun at the barber!

  2. Gorgeous! A hair science blog spoke of working with the surface of lopo hair and going light on products. I really love the light leave-in by Kinky Curly and it can be watered down. I am going to try your method when I get more rhassoul. Maybe I’ll win this contest!

  3. Yes those curls are on fleek! Shine 👌 I’ve been skipping leave-ins after Washday for a few months. Most Washdays. I stumbled on it by accident but I Realised that, after using a really good deep conditioner, my hair was fine with just a sealant. Although for this it prefers pomades and butters (coconut oil won’t do it for me) Also, my low-po hair like yours takes ages to dry! I’ve started using Moisturising stylers instead. No point adding an extra layer of leave-in when my mousse or pudding can moisturise and define curls too.

    • I wish I discovered it by accident earlier! Same here, my hair always looks best after a deep conditioner. And then I proceed to add products and it doesn’t look as good. Luckily, with this new method drying time is much faster. You have me excited to try to seal with a different product next time. 😉

  4. I keep hearing about how great this clay is. After seeing your pictures I’m gonna have to try it for myself. I never really thought about leaving out my leave in. I just go though the motions and don’t really think about. I feel like it’s time to try something new with my whole routine though so maybe I’ll try it.

  5. HI..I actually stopped using leave in conditioner about 2 years ago…I really did not see a difference with or without a leave in…my hair tends to dry very quickly so I have to work fast to get the moisture in my low porosity/dense/thick hair..I just started using a leave in a couple of months ago…but I must say I am ready to skip this part again 🙂 and just go with a styling cream and call it a day….then again I experiment as well with clays, oils, leave-ins….your hair will tell you what it likes and dislikes…since I have simplified my regimen to work with my hair. Love all your posts..thank you so much for all the information that you provide to all of us:) Greatly Appreciated!!!!

  6. Great post as a low porosity gal myself I to have noticed after applying leave in, if i dont use either my turbie twist or a cotton t shirt to help dry my hair it looks as if the leave in isnt absorbed. I will definitely try this 😊

  7. Pingback: Give Away! | low porosity hair care

  8. That’s really interesting. ….in the natural and even processed hair world a leave-in conditioner is a must!!! But if it worked for you I say hey, keep doing it. However, I have never tried this clay and you were the first person to introduce it to me. Read about it and it sounds fantastic. Would love to try it!

  9. Ok Annabel, I’ve already commented on this post (and many others), and been a years long faithful follower, AND I’m based in London UK. So please, please, please send the Rhassoul my way! Thanks in advance. 😉

  10. Pingback: And the winner is…. | low porosity hair care

Leave a Reply

