Wash Sleep and Go

WSG

Every week I twist, turn, braid and/or knot my hair. I’m always pre-styling. It’s been months since I’ve done a wash and go. So I felt one was in order this week. Besides, I generally notice by day 3 or 4, twist outs and any “out” for that matter is not really forgiving on my ends. Especially, with dry winter weather and knit sweaters, my poor ends usually take a beating. So I’m going to try wash and gos for a little now, to see whether leaving my ends alone at night (i.e. no manipulation), will protect them.

I used to give a *Kanye shrug* when I read about protective styling, I just didn’t feelย  it did anything for me. Now that my hair is longer and rubs against my clothes when stretched, I’m starting to see the light. I know, I know, you’re probably saying to yourself “a wash and go is the furthest from protective styling– single strand knots (ssks)!” However, I want to test it out, because I feel a wash and go provides shrinkage, which reduces contact with my clothes. We shall see. In any case, it’s been a while since I’ve worn my curls as is and right now I’m loving it.

So back to the post of this title. I call this style a Wash Sleep and Go, because I washed my hair at night. Here’s how I achieved the result.

Evening before – Washed and conditioned my hair. Applied a generous amount of Cantu Leave-In (um, love this stuff, review to come soon along with some other fun products I’m trying out), applied gel to entire head. I usually don’t apply a gel, but I wanted some definition and hold. Air dried my hair for a few hours*, split it in two, twisted each section into two very large loose twists (leaving my ends untwisted) and pinned them in place. Satin scarf, sleep.

*You want your hair to be more than half-way dry before heading to bed.

Next day – I had a little case of helmet head, but nothing a bit of head banging, shaking and swerving, can’t deal with. My hair feels SO soft and smells really good. It’s shiny and my ends are definitely hydrated. If I notice it’s starting to get a little dry I’ll spritz my ends with leave-in and water and/or wear a chignon.

Do you wash and go in the winter? What are you techniques?

 

8 thoughts on “Wash Sleep and Go

      • Hi Dear, my hair takes way to long to dry, about 48 hours to air dry or 24 hours with AC, I do not use heat you see ๐Ÿ˜€ so no wash and go for me ๐Ÿ˜€
        Smiles!!!

    • They don’t work for me either. It’s actually more work for me than other styles and it highlights the different curls patterns in my head,which makes it look awkward. However, I’ve seen beautiful results on other naturals.

      • I quite like the non uniform look, it’s looks natural (no pun intended). After my pregnancy my hair thinned out a lot, so this also helps with the illusion of thickness. Some days after a twist out my hair starts to look really piecy. What are some of your fav styles.

      • I love twist outs and braid outs the most bc they are low maintenance and they last for a few days and longer if I retwist or rebraid. I started developing single strand knots and I find that they disappear when I keep my hair really moisturized and stretched.

      • I love how Naturals can rock their wash and gos, if I could figure out a way to sleep while standing up until they are dry, will go for it ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
        Smiles!!!

Leave a Reply

