Thank you!

I want to thank my readers for all the support you’ve given this blog over the past couple of years. In particular, I appreciate your thoughtful and candid feedback and comments. Recently, I posted on a new oil that I began using, palm oil. One reader warned me about the environmental devastation linked to palm oil and suggested I make sure to use a sustainable brand. This week I had to the chance to sit down a read a little on palm oil and all its bad publicity. Scary stuff, to say the least. While I will add that I try to buy only organic and sustainable oils and that my oil was manufactured with sustainable farming methods. I don’t think I’ll buy another bottle, just knowing that it is the most exploited oil in the world doesn’t sit well with me.

I just want to say, I take all of your feedback into consideration and am really appreciative of you sharing your wisdom with me. For what’s life without learning and growing.

Any way, after this bottle of palm oil runs out, I’ll no longer buy it. I’ll also try to be conscious about the foods that I buy and make sure I buy foods that don’t use it — that’ll be challenging, as it’s in SO many products, but it’s worth it for the planet. Here are a few bullet points on why it’s important to avoid palm oil or seek a sustainable oil:

  • major contributor to climate change
  • deforestation
  • linked to extinction of certain species of animals
  • pollution
  • the list goes on…

For a quick read and powerful video on its effects, click the links below.

Hope you all had a nice weekend. We took peanut sledding for the first time and he hit the slopes like he’d been doing it since birth! Did you do anything fun?

8 thoughts on “Thank you!

  1. Hello My Dear, thank you as always for your great informative posts, did not know this about palm oil, down here, the country produces and exports it out, never sold down here at all, figures right. Even if I find in future, will not purchase. Personally, have been working all weekend but that is good because it means cash for Ice Cream next week 😀 😀 😀
    Smiles!!!

  2. Wow! I had not heard of Palm oil until your post. I definitely will stick to my coconut, olive, and jojoba oils. Thanks for the heads up!

  3. Can I just defend palm oil for a second! Palm oil grown in west Africa is sustainably grown and doesn’t negatively affect the local ecosystem, it’s Asian palm oil that’s not grown sustainably. So I’d suggest you buy Ghanaian palm oil

    • Interesting, thanks so much. From what I’ve read it is primarily Indonesia and Malaysia where production is most harmful to the environment. For the actual Palm oil I’ll look for labels with the origin from Ghana. However, for commercial grocery items it’s often difficult to know what type and where the palm was manufactured. Thanks again for your comment.

Leave a Reply

