Keep Calm, Stay Hydrated

I’m a strong advocate for health. I think that healthy hair starts from the inside out. On this blog, I often praise natural ingredients, such as rhassoul clay and rave about my favorite products, like Kinky Curly Knot Today. However, these are only topical applications and in the long run, while they help protect and cleanse my hair, they aren’t what make my hair healthy. A healthy diet, rich with fruits, vegetables and PLENTY of water help purify and hydrate the body, which can reap benefits for your hair. It’s so important that we get our daily intake of water. This is particularly important to me, since I am breastfeeding the peanut. I know I know it’s not always easy to get 8 oz of water a day. So I thought I’d share my favorite immune-boosting and hydrating drink with you. It’s simple, easy and delicious. I make 2 liters of this and am able to finish it all within a day.

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 liters water
  • 1 bag of green tea
  • 1 TBSP honey
  • 4 – 5 lemon slices
  • (optional grated ginger)
  1. Heat 1.5 liters of water. Add one tablespoon of honey and mix until dissolved. Add tea bag (and grated ginger),  let it steep for about 15 – 20 minutes.
  2. In a glass pitcher, add .5 liters of cold water. 4 – 5 lemon slices
  3. Once the green tea cools add to the mixture in the glass pitcher. Pop this in the fridge for a couple of hours or until chilled and enjoy as much as you’d like.

This drink it really light and refreshing for summer. It gives me an alternative to drinking straight water all the time. I even place it in a wine glass and enjoy it at lunch time. Makes me feel all fancy and sophisticated– even when I’m sometimes covered in green peas and sweet potato purée (the peanut has discovered the joy of blowing raspberries lately). Guess I can forget about those lovely white summer pants. Lol!

What’s your favorite way to drink water. Are you a purist or do you like to mix things up a bit?

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm, Stay Hydrated

  1. Thanks so much for this Annabel. Definitely gonna try it. I have a Distiller, however I’mnot a fan of straight water, but with squeezed lemon juice, Mint leaves or Cucumber slices, I find it tastes so much better. And yep, we are most definitely what we eat!

    • Oh wow, I’m definitely trying your water mix. I often do a berry water infusion in summer: blueberries + strawberries, 24 hours in the fridge = water full of vitamins and antioxidants and you can eat the fruit after.

Leave a Reply

