Hair Aisle Junky

20140430-172036.jpg

I have about a drop of Giovanni Triple Treat Shampoo left. However, I still have a few bottles of other shampoo sitting in my medicine cabinet. So please tell me, why do I feel the need to detour down the hair aisle and grab this shampoo and conditioner? (bows head in shame). Ugh drug store hair aisle be damned!

Any way, I did want to try a creamy shampoo lately, as all of mine are clear liquid shampoos (coughs: excuses). I haven’t really used Garnier Fructic shampoo or conditioner, since my relaxed days. I’m wondering how it will work out. In any case, I’ll give these a try this weekend and report back with results. I can always give them to hubby if they don’t do anything for me. Have you ever tried Garnier products? Is your shampoo cream or liquid-based?

10 thoughts on “Hair Aisle Junky

  1. I haven’t tried Garnier Fructis before. I’m curious about your results though. I use Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter shampoo which is cream based. I’m a recovering product junkie lol I’m trying to use up all of the products that I have before I buy anymore. If you have good results, I will be buying this in the future 🙂

      • You’re welcome! 🙂 Sorry for the late reply. I saw your new post and realized that I didn’t check for a reply from you. I need to start receiving emails for replies. But I like Shea Moisture’s moisture retention shampoo. The only thing I notice is that it leaves a little buildup. Maybe cream based isn’t what I need. I’m going to try their African black soap line next and see if it is better.

      • I’ve heard good things about the African Black Soap Line. I’ve never tried Shea Moisture products. A lot of people rave about the Moisture Rentention Conditioner.

  2. Thank you so much for this blog. Seriously, it’s so great! My hair has been awful for months and it was only when I found this blog that I realised I had low-porosity hair, and that I had been doing everything all wrong! (Putting heavy oils on it before washing in particular.) You are a hair saver! 😀

    I’m about to try your hair regime with a few tweaks, and I was wondering, do ever pixie diffuse? If so have you had any luck with it?

    I totally do the impulse shampoo buying too. It’s like all common sense vanishes when I’m confronted with a shelf of shampoos and conditioners!

    • Thanks for stopping by and your lovely comments.
      What’s a “pixie” diffuse? I rarely diffuse (normal method), I usually just sit under my hooded dryer. =)

      • You’re very welcome. I washed my hair last night and it’s already looking and feeling so much better. It was practically straw before so yeah, really can’t thank you enough for the information on this blog. ❤

        Pixie diffusing is something I'd heard mentioned a lot on Naturally Curly and British Curlies. I actually looked it up propery last night (http://www.britishcurlies.co.uk/articles/article/curl_styling_the_pixiecurl_method_for_diffuse_drying_your_curls/) and it seems like it wouldn't work for your hair anyway as it would be difficult to section off in the way they discuss (?). My hair's pretty long and it still frizzed up with this method so yeah, a hood sounds like a much better plan!

        My scalp hates both wet hair and heat, so I've been trying to find a method to dry it. Back to the drawing board!

      • Thanks for the link. I don’t think pixie curling will ever work for my hair. I used to diffuse and I just ended up with frizzy, shapeless big hair. Definitely try a hood, the heat is distributed evenly and you can put it on a low setting. If it’s warm out you can also let it dry out inthe sun. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

