Dabney’s Hair Story

Hello readers!

I’d like to share a natural hair story from a lovely reader, Dabney:

image.jpeg

How long have you been natural?

 

I have been natural since 1991.

 

Why did you decide to go natural?

After high school, I decided that I wanted to chop off all my hair because I was tired of trying to keep up with the hair trends. I went to college with 3 in. of hair and I was happy! My hair never got particularly long. I was more interested in curl definition. However , it once grew to chin length and then broke off. I have big chopped several times over the years, I have dyed it and braided it  as well. My biggest issue has always been severe dryness and breakage. Recently, I cut my hair off and dyed it red. I loved it until my hair started to split into tree branches. I had to big chop four inches from my 6in hair! I said that is it! I need to get my hair’s health back. When I was in Salzburg in the summer the humidity helped my hair stay moisturized and soft. I came home put it in box braids again and slowly my hair began to return.

How did you find out your hair was low porosity?

Through Pinterest I found several helpful pins on natural hair care. They helped a little but the dryness was still there. Then I came upon the theory of Porosity.I did the  porosity test and found my hair is low porosity. I was on the attack! This was the reason for the dryness!

What’s your low porosity hair care regimen?

I was using the wrong types of oils on my hair. After cleaning out my product shelf, I switched from heavy oils to light oils and liquid moisturizers that were water based. I clean my hair with a co-wash, rinse it with baking soda and water, and seal it with grape seed and wheat germ oil and voilà, moisturized soft hair! It isn’t greasy and doesn’t feel like paper!

 

Thanks Dabney, for this wonderful story and your great tips! If readers want more of Dabney’s luscious hair, you can find her on the web: http://www.youtube.com/user/Dashingdiva73/videos

If you’d like to share your story, please contact me.

 

One thought on “Dabney’s Hair Story

Leave a Reply

