Mullet to Bob: How to

So, I’m not sure if I’ve discussed my mullet days on this blog. I probably mentioned it at some point, but after cutting off my relaxed hair, I went through an awkward phase. My hair was way longer in the back than the front (it was rave in the back and super professional in the front, read: mullet). Now, I was obsessed with growth and long hair when I first chopped my hair off. So the only cutting I ever did was trimming my dead ends. This is still my philosophy to this day. Although, these days I’m not concentrating on growth, I just let my hair be.

Back then during my mullet days, I would envy  many bloggers I saw that would simply avoid the awkward look by getting a gorgeous hair cut, getting layers or just chopping it all off again. This just wasn’t an option for me, living in Europe, where most people aren’t used to washing, let alone cutting my hair type. I wasn’t going to play stylist to myself either.

So, during my awkward phase, which I’d say lasted almost one year, I just pinned my hair back and found creative ways to work with my hair. I’m very happy that I did this, because my once naturally awkward two level hair and very slow-growing front section is starting to catch up. The mullet, I was hiding with bobby pins, hair elastics and headbands has now grown into a nice bob. And I loves me a good bob. That’s one hair style that I will never get sick of. Curly, straight or wavy, I just love seeing women rock a sassy bob, heck men too for that matter. Guess it’s my appreciation for 1920’s fashion. In any case, what I’m saying is. If you are on a growth journey and are going through an awkward mullet phase, hang in there. Of course you could cut it, but if that’s not an option for you. Find creative ways to work around the mullet, keep your hair healthy and keep trimming it and eventually it’ll grow into a style of its own. Well, that’s if your hair, line mine, grows slower in the front than the back.

What was your most awkward hair style? Did you ever cut your own hair? I always feel like I can just grab a pair of scissors and whip out a nice style, but I think I’d end up looking like Edward Scissor Hands…

Leave a Reply

