Homemade castile soap review

Last week I tried to be a little kitchen chemist a whipped up my very own castile soap. Wonk, wonk, wonk. I found this hair wash was too drying. My hair felt a little stripped. So I don’t think I’ll be using this anytime in the future for a hair wash. This even makes me think I’ll skip ever trying Dr. Bronner’s. Well it wasn’t a complete failure, I’ll use the remainder as a body wash– so not a complete bust. Basically, I’m coming to the conclusion that nothing compares to my mud wash. It’s the only thing that keeps my hair clean and moisturized. I do occasionally use Giovanni’s Tea Tree Tingle shampoo to clarify and that does a decent job. Not nearly as drying as my wash. Next week I’ll be dabbling in the kitchen again attempting to whip up a rhassoul clay conditioner.

Here’s my hair after washing it. as you can see it looks undefined and dry. After I styled it in a braid out. It was defined, but felt a little crunchy and hard.

20140210-220909.jpg

20140210-220916.jpg

Have you ever tried castile soap on your hair? What was your experience?

11 thoughts on “Homemade castile soap review

  1. I use Dr. Bronner’s on my hair and it is fine. I always detangle my hair with a conditioner and deep condition after using it though. Maybe that is what helps a bit. I am not sure. I also only use it when I want a deep cleanse which is once a month. I can’t really compare it to a mud wash because I have never used one. Maybe if I can compare the two, I could tell a difference. Sorry it didn’t work for you. 😦

  2. Hey Annabel, I’ve used Dr Bronners before, and I found it leaves a residue behind on my lo-po hair. I think the dryness you’re experiencing is due to this residue, because as you know once its there it will prevent the hair absorbing anything else. But the beauty of natural products is that it can always be used for something else. So now, it’s been relegated to a non-drying hand wash, and mixed with Bicarbonate of Soda is excellent for cleaning your bath, and recently left my cream kitchen cupboard doors looking super clean and bright, so I’m not complaining! As is typical of lo-po hair my hair like yours is happiest with something that cleanses without stripping but also at the same time leaves nothing behind.

    I’ve had success recently with a natural homemade shampoo, but will use it a few times more for definite results, and then give you the big reveal 😉

    • Same here I experienced a slight residue buildup. Cannot wait to hear about your homemade shampoo!! And you’re absolutely right it’s great that we can repurpose natural ingredients!

Leave a Reply

