Hair Interview: My Mom

Today, I had the honor of interviewing my Mom, who big chopped her shoulder-length relaxed hair 2 months ago.

Why did you decide to go natural?

Three reasons: 1. I decided to get rid of the chemicals and extra expenses that come along with relaxed hair. This is not my first time going natural. The first time I went natural, I felt my hair was unmanageable, because of the length, so I decided to relax it. 2. I can work out without worrying about styling or ruining my hair. 3. These were all things I considered, but what pushed me to just do it was my niece. She has cancer and lost her hair. I cut off all my hair off to support my niece and show my solidarity.

What was your first reaction when you went natural?

I was a little shocked after I cut off all my hair. After the initial shock, I ran my hands over my hair and thought it actually felt good. I’m 57, so I was really self-conscious about my grays showing through. After a few weeks, I tired of the gray hair and colored my hair. This made me feel better about it. Now, I’m loving my hair and I refuse to go back to relaxed hair.

How did your friend’s and family react?

I received mixed reactions. Some were shocked and annoyed, others were really happy for me and loved it. My great-aunt is in her  80’s and told me that at my age, I shouldn’t cut off my hair and that my hair was my crown and glory. She told me I shouldn’t have cut off, what she considered beautiful hair to go back to nappy hair. After seeing my own beautiful daughter and niece go natural, as well as many other natural women, it inspired me to go natural as well.

What would you say to someone considering going natural?

I would encourage them to take the leap. It was the best decision I made. You will be in shock at first, but once you do it, you might ask yourself, like I did, what took me so long.

What do you love about your new hair?

It’s short and manageable. I can wash it and go. My regimen is simple and I can wash my hair when I want. My hair sheds less.

What is your regimen?

I wash my hair once per week. I  work a small amount of Indian Hemp into my wet hair– This has petroleum, so my daughter is working on getting me into some other products. Unfortunately, I have a hard time coming away from hair grease. — Next, I towel-dry my hair for 5 minutes to remove excess water. Finally, I apply a little Taliah Waajid, Kinky, Wavy, Natural Herbal Style and Shine to my damp hair. I comb it my hair out once per week.

What are your hair goals?

To have long, healthy, manageable kinky hair. I want a big Angela Davis afro!

What’s the best thing about your “new” hair?

It doesn’t cost anything to take care of my hair. I don’t have to style it for hours or use heat. I don’t miss burning myself by accident when curling or flat-ironing my hair.

 

Note from editor: I’d still love to have entries from readers. If you’d like to share your hair story, talk about your blog or write a post for the blog, please contact me— whether curly, straight or wavy, if you’d like to contribute, let me know.

5 thoughts on “Hair Interview: My Mom

  1. Thanks for sharing Annabel. And good for you Mom! You look wonderful both relaxed and natural! Would love to know how you’re getting on with a new regimen for Mom Annabel, and what porosity hair she has. And congrats on the birth of your little peanut! 😀 xx

  2. WOW, YOUR MAMA IS GORGEOUS!!!! Please tell her she looks fantastic, my Mom BC just a few weeks ago and she loves it too. YAY MOMS, natural hair is simply amazing and tell her to do not listen to negativity, because she is FINE!!!! Thanks for hte post dear 🙂
    Smiles!!!

Leave a Reply

