NYE: Curlformers + Solo Parents

Happy New Year again!! My Mom arrived 2 days ago, sporting freshly dyed, auburn red cropped hair. I’ll be interviewing her on my blog and also helping her create a new regimen as well as determining her porosity. Stay tuned!

So with grandma in town, my husband and I decided to keep a long standing tradition. Every year we eat at this amazing Japanese restaurant, nestled in the Alps. This year we invited friends (mostly parents) and said it would be a kids-free night. It was my first time being away from the peanut for so long. I called a couple of times to check in. Overall I had such a good time!!! It felt good to just chat amongst friends, uninterrupted.

For NYE, I wanted a special look so I tried Curlformers!! Let me say, I think this will be my to-go to winter style!! It leaves my hair stretched and moisturized! I’m not sure how many days the curls last, but I plan on putting it in a protective style in a couple of days anyway.

I forgot to take the customary Curlformer picture, but I did take an after pic. It took me 2.5 hrs to install them, but I found my rhythm at the end and think it’ll be faster the next time. I used all 40 long and wide Curlformers, 24 in the front and 16 in the back. Before styling I had washed my hair with diluted shampoo and then reverse-oil rinsed. I’m really happy with the results.

How do you preserve your Curlformer style? What did you do for NYE?

20140102-214943.jpg

4 thoughts on “NYE: Curlformers + Solo Parents

  1. Love your hair! That’s great that you and your husband had a date night. I have 2 boys under 3 years old. My husband and I are like little teenagers when we get away! Lol Happy New Year!!

  2. My hair has been breaking and shedding(health problems *sad face*), am 3 years natural and teep-toe-ing around shoulder length, hopefully this year I get healthier and retain length..How do you deal with hair setbacks bc its really getting to me

    And btw, You look so gorgeous! I love the skirt and you are a beautiful mom and congrats on your new born son-may he grow up to be a blessing to the world, happy new year to your family!

    • Thank you so much, you’re so sweet. Happy New Year and lots of peace, health and happiness to you and your family as well!!
      It’s a wool skirt, so when paired with tights it keeps you warm on cold winter days!

      Regarding hair, hang in there. Shoulder length is great and with some patience and a proactive healthy changes, it’ll all come together.

      In terms of setbacks, I just take it easy and try to enjoy my hair at every stage. If I’m having a bad hair day, there’s nothing a cute beanie and maybe a playful outfit can’t solve. I’m sure your hair is lovely, stay positive and the most important thing to take of is your health.
      Xoxo

Leave a Reply

