Twists

With only a couple of weeks until my due date, I’m a lot more tired than usual. This week I decided to put my hair in smallish twists. These are by no means mini-twists—no time or patience for that! I want to see how long I can go without undoing them… The goal is two weeks and to actually try washing my hair in twists to see if they hold.

I typically wear my twists in a bun, to get them off my face and To stretch them. I’d say this is a protective style, but the main reason I did it was to protect myself from having to bother with my hair. 😉

I also trimmed 1/4 – 1/2 inch while twisting. It was actually an easy process since I had twists in. When my hair felt rough and dry, I simply snipped it off.

These are my bunned twists, after washing with rhassoul followed by a conditioning oil rinse, and twisting for 1.5 hrs:

20131115-074445.jpg

20131115-074452.jpg

Do you wear twists? How long do you keep them in?

6 thoughts on “Twists

  1. Nicely done, think I will do twists on Sunday after wash day. I try to leave mine in for 1 week only because on day 8 she starts to loc up and is a pain to detangle, my hair is perfect for locs!!!! My favorite twists are mini ones, but when my Mom does them because they take so longggg to do, it’s like it never ends, gotta love our Mums 🙂 plus she loves to do them 🙂
    Smiles!!!

  2. I wear twists every week because they are so low maintenance. I install them on Sunday and I don’t wash my hair again until the next Sunday. During the week, all I have to do is wake up and go, which I love about twists. I can’t wait until my hair is long enough to put my twists in a ponytail like you have done.

    • I hear you, simplicity is the key. They do take some time to put in, but once you find a rhythm the process is not all that time-consuming. I’m hoping this keeps for 1.5 to 2 weeks. If not, I’m going to try to wash my hair in twists, concentrating on my scalp… we’ll see how it goes. Thanks for commenting!

      • No problem! I have 2 kiddos under the age of 3 and the twists are VERY time consuming to install, I’m not going to lie lol

Leave a Reply

