Product Review: Dabur Vatika Hair Fall Control Styling Cream

Price: Amazon has it listed as 7.99, you may find it cheaper at your local Indian beauty supply store.

What’s in it: According to the ingredient list on the jar: Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Cactus Extract, D-Panthenol, and Perfume. However, there were comments on Amazon about many sellers issuing a fake version of the product loaded with artificial ingredients, so be weary.

What it claims to do: Gives complete nourishment, strengthens hair and fights shine.

Instructions: For best results use before and after hair wash. As a prepoo: before shampooing, massage cream into dry hair from root to tip,leave on 15 minutes and wash as usual. After wash: apply a small amount to damp hair for protection, shine and to ease styling.

How I used it: I’ve tried this product three times and have never used it as a prepoo only as a post wash styler and moisturizer. I mostly apply the product to my ends and only partially to the rest of my hair.

My 2 pennies:

+ Leaves my hair incredibly shiny once it dries.

+Makes my ends curl right up.

+Leaves my hair feeling soft and moisturized, but not greasy and this last for a few days.

+A little goes a long way.

+Soft creamy texture that absorbs quickly.

-The smell is WAY too  strong. Makes me suspicious about the ingredients list, even if the jar only lists 4 ingredients. Would much rather hair a perfume-free or an essential oil fragrance.

-I didn’t notice whether it really works to reduce hair shedding. I find this is a strong claim to make. In any case, it’s difficult to say exactly what reduces hair shedding, as I use different products in my regimen. My hair doesn’t shed a lot as is (thank you pregnancy, but I am fearing the post-pregnancy shed showdown).

Here’s my hair using the product on a twist out. I don’t think the results greatly differ from when I use my usual products. I will say it stayed defined a lot longer. However, this could be due to my doing a twist out and not a braid out.

Would I buy the product again?

Meh, I’m not ready to stock up on this product like I do with KCKT. However, I’m happy to use it while it remains in my medicine cabinet. I’m not a fan of the fragrance so even if it continues to give consistent results, I just can’t handle that chemical smell.

Has anyone else tried Dabur Vatika products?

Leave a Reply

