Reverse Oil Rinsing: Round 3

A reader commented a few weeks ago that she tried oil rinsing and had great results the first day, but that things went downhill shortly after. Another reader made an insightful suggestion that it could be that adding oil to your hair without any moisture, makes moisturizing challenging. This comment really stuck with me. However, I couldn’t give up on oil rinsing just yet. As I said, I want to give it a few weeks to a month, before I give my opinion. Still, what this reader said made a lot of sense, so I decided to switch things up a bit and reverse the order of my oil rinsing method.

  1. Divide hair into 3 – 4 sections.
  2. Shampoo or wash hair as usual.
  3. Apply your favorite conditioner (my choice last week was Aussie Moist) – do not rinse out.
  4. Apply your favorite oil on top of the conditioner and work into your hair – do not rinse out.
  5. Deep condition (preferably with heat) for 30 minutes.
  6. Rinse out the oil and conditioner. Condition your hair a second time (it will melt in your fingers), if you’re like me, rinse about 60% – 70% of the conditioner.

Results: soft, shiny, defined coils and curls.

I’ll try this method for my next two washes and let you know how it goes. This time, I did blow-dry my hair and wear it pulled up the entire week. I blow dried so I can give myself a trim. I’m really bad at trimming my hair curly, unless I cut it while it’s in twists. I cut off 1 1/2 inches of hair, but it feels better.

Actually, I really need to wash my hair, it has been just over a week. However, I’ve been really busy, so don’t think I’ll get around to it until this weekend.

How do you trim your hair? Any tips?

9 thoughts on “Reverse Oil Rinsing: Round 3

  1. Hello, I’m back with an update. Used safflower oil. As I did my twists, I noticed a soft, moist feel ( without grease content) in my hair. My rebellious hair was satisfied. However, after day three, my hair felt…well…like the Sahara Desert and not as Duncan Hines moist on the first day. My hair was literally chanting for moisture. I’m going to bail out and go back to deep conditioning and continue my homemade experiments trying to get that moisture content.

    CONGRATULATIONS (you’re now on your way to being a member of the Parenthood Club 🙂 )

  2. I’m always down for the 2 birds, 1 stone deal. So I’ve been doing the conditioner/hot oil treatment for a while now. My hair loves it. I don’t do it all the time though, depends on my mood, lol. I trim my hair flat ironed. I can’t see what it is I need to get rid of while its curly. But straightening it really does let you see and feel the difference in your healthy hair and the split ends.

  3. Same here, I love simplicity! The easier my regimen, the better! I totally agree with you regarding trimming. I only trim 2 – 3 times per year, so I’m not using too much heat.

  4. Pingback: Shiny Beach Waves | low porosity hair care

  5. I just wanted to let you know that I stumbled across your reverse oil rinsing method and tried it, and it worked really well for me so I want to thank you for sharing! I’ve struggled with dry, low porosity hair for a while and have been unable to find methods of moisturizing that really work for me. I have tried oil rinsing the normal way, and it led to me just having weighed down hair that wasn’t really moisturized. I tried reverse oil rinsing recently, and my hair has been soft, and moisturized for the past 4 days. Usually my hair is dry as a bone the day after my wash even after I moisturize and seal! So thank you SO MUCH for sharing and giving a fellow lo-po a way to hydrate her hair!!!! Not enough blogs or forums are tailored to low porosity hair!

Leave a Reply

