Round 2: Oil Rinsing Update

My hair is on day 5, since my wash day, where I slightly adapted my oil rinsing method. This time around, after my first rinse, I basically left in about 60-70% of my conditioner (Tresemme Naturals). In addition, I opted for coconut oil. After, I applied a small amount of diluted KCKT and on top of that a very small amount if flax gel.

This time around my hair is only starting to feel somewhat dry today (I.e day 5). I plan on moisturizing it tonight and then washing it again Thursday night. I will be trying this again to test the results.

I’m not sure what my consensus on oil rinsing will be. I need to try it for a bit before I say whether it’s worthwhile. I’m very curious about the potential of this working as a modified curly girl method (which has never done anything for me). Until then don’t feel obligated to rush home and try this. (I sound like a TV warning. “kids don’t try this at home!” lol!) Perhaps it’s safer to observe my experiment a bit first.

Hair days 4-5:

20130701-145914.jpg

20130701-145926.jpg

20130701-145944.jpg

20130701-150001.jpg

On another note, I just want to say thank you to all of my readers that have continued to follow me. And especially for your congratulatory and thoughtful emails and comments. It’s really touching to know there are so many caring people out there.

9 thoughts on “Round 2: Oil Rinsing Update

  1. I’m noticing that low porosity hair looks duller than other types of hair. I find that I most identify with low porosity hair – as far as looks – regardless of curl type. My hair has a sheen but not really a shine…when dry.
    Is there anyway to keep the same shine from when your hair is wet to dry?
    Right now the most annoying part of low porosity hair is the dull look when dry esp when I use gels. Once they’re dry it just isnt the same.
    Do you have any tips for shine? Or gel tips for edges?

    • Hi! Thx for stopping by. Perhaps try going easy on the gel.
      I think curly hair in general reflects less light than straight hair, sometimes giving it a less shiny appearance. My hair is typically shinier in stretched styles than a wash n go bc it reflects more light. I don’t mind a little frizz, bc of all the texture and volume I get with natural hair.
      However, there are many low porosity vloggers with healthy shiny hair (see Alicia James and Denim Pixie on YouTube).
      The key is making sure you get moisture in your
      hair (see my previous post on moisturizing). Otherwise, maybe a light oil or sheen product, such as a shine emollient might help (e.g. Aveda). However, I think something natural such as grapeseed or safflower is better. Try applying your oil to semi dry or dry hair.
      As far as edges a little leave-in or water and light oil, satin scarf, wait 10 minutes and voila.
      Low porosity doesn’t = dull hair. Especially, when properly moisturized. But we have to work with what we have.
      Readers, sound in?

  2. Thank you so much. Everything you said was really helpful. My hair def shines more when held taught especially when blown out. I’m going to try the tips you mentioned but thx again for the tips and for this blog I really appreciate it

  3. Your welcome! Keep up the good job 🙂

    ..and btw this is a reader request ;), could you please write a post of your hair story, only if you can thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

