Oil Rinsing on Low Porosity Hair

Oils and I have never really been best friends. However, I’ve always hoped that I could find a way to incorporate them into my routine. My wishes might have been answered. Awhile ago, I was surfing the net and I came across a forum on oil rinsing. The person raved about the results of her oil rinsing trial and it just so happens she has low porosity hair. This made me really curious. So after months of thinking about whether to oil rinse or not, I threw caution to the wind today. It’s still too early to give you my verdict, but I do have some positives to report.

First, for those of you who have never heard of oil cleansing, here’s a quick overview on the process:

Shampoo (optional) + coat hair with a small amount of oil + condition under a stream of very warm water, to rinse out some of the oil and detangle.

Easy enough, right?

This was the first time I’ve tried oil rinsing and thus far I’m happy with the results. I won’t tell you whether I recommend it for lo-po hair until I’ve tried consistently for at least a month. Right now, my hair is damp and in twists, so it’s difficult to say whether it’s effective. I’ll have to see how my hair dries and report back to give you a weekly update.

For now, I’ll walk you through the steps I took and the results I achieved from my first oil rinse.

1. After a trip to the swimming pool, my hair was really dry and in desperate need of moisture. I started off by sectioning my hair into three parts. I shampooed my hair to remove any chemicals from the pool and prepare it for the oil rinse. Next for each section I worked about a handful of extra virgin olive oil into my hair, starting at the ends and working my way up.

***Initial thoughts: disappointed, my hair felt like straw as the oil hit my strands. It never felt soft or supple. Feeling very skeptical.

2. At this point, some suggest sitting under a plastic cap for 30 m – 1 h for a deep, conditioning oil treatment. I decided to go straight to the last step and apply my conditioner (Suave Shea and Almond). I massaged the conditioner into my hair, one section at a time, then attempted to detangle. My hair had a couple of tangles and the comb didn’t glide through it. So, I decided to condition a second time, using more conditioner this time. Suddenly, my hair felt soft, yet strong and smooth. The comb sailed through my hair as the warm water rushed over it. I was truly impressed with the results. I couldn’t stop running my fingers through my hair.

Once I got out of the shower, I examined each section closely. My hair looked remarkably darker and shinier. It was still very easy to comb and very soft and fluffy. I had less curl definition than I usually do when I wash my hair, especially in the front, where my hair is a bit looser. However, for strong and soft hair, I could definitely sacrifice curl definition! I decided to twist my hair and let it air dry over night. Only time will tell whether oil rinsing is an effective moisturizing method for lo-po hair. So I’ll report back with results.

My theory on why this method would work is that conditioners contain emulsifiers that allow water and oil to blend. You probably rinse off some of the oil in the wash process. However, some of it probably binds to the conditioner, allowing you to seal-in moisture and deeply penetrate your hair shaft. I really hope my results live up to my expectations!

Have you ever tried oil rinsing, what was your experience?

13 thoughts on “Oil Rinsing on Low Porosity Hair

  1. OMG, I am so happy I stumbled across your page! I have been natural for 2 1/2 years and have struggled with moisture retention from day one!! I have tried it all, from ACV rinse to aloe(which of course were huge failures)!! The oil rinse along with the DC with heat have saved my hair!! I am going to try using baking soda tomorrow!! Thank you sooo much for this blog!

    • Yay happy you found something that works. Let me know how oil rinsing continues to work for you. I’m still experimenting with it. I’ve changed my method a bit and will write an update this week. Welcome!

  2. I am a firm believer in oil rinsing. So far I’ve been doing it once a week every week (middle of the week for me) and my hair LOVES it. I only shampoo once a month so in between poo-washes I co wash. I soak my hair in warm water for about 10-15 mins to get it saturated and I apply EVOO, let it sit for about 10-15 mins and rinse with very warm water, I then apply the conditioner (Aussie moist, or Tresseme naturals or extra dry w/ vitamin e condish…my fav) let that sit for about 3-5 mins and rinse with cool water (helps seal in the moisture and closes the cuticles)…I then do the L.O.C method and twist or braid my hair..It takes about 2 days though for my hair to dry but I don’t mind because it is protecting my hair. This is my typical weekly regimen, and it has helped with retaining moisture, less breakage and easier to manage my hair…AMEN to oil rinsing lol ^_^

    • Hi, thx for commenting. I like the idea of soaking the hair in water. For me oil rinsing only works when I apply a conditioner, then oil, but I’ve retained so much moisture since incorporating it.

  3. I’ve done the oil rinse and it didn’t exactly give me the results I wanted. I have a TWA that gets extremely dry, especially when I wake up and there’s a matted mess in the back of my head even though I have a satin bonnet. I did decided to the oil rinse. The first time I tried, I shampooed in warm-hot water, added several handfuls of oil, rinsed the oil in warm-hot water, then I conditioned and left it in for a bit. My hair was REALLY oily but easy to detangle, when I woke up the next day, DRY but oily fro. Two days later i thought I’d give it another try. This time I only used about 2-3 handfuls, my hair was easy to detangle but when woke up, a matted, dry mess of a fro. Maybe it’s because I didn’t do it in the right order. It’s weird because when I touch a curl its soft and feels hydrated but when I touch on the top of my hair it’s dry and brittle.

    • Hi Francesca,
      Thanks for stopping by. First, I don’t oil rinse, I reported that applying oil then a conditioner left me with dry hair. What I do is reverse-oil rinsing (see post here). Here’s what I recommend:

      1. Apply Cleansing product (e.g. shampoo) – 2. apply moisturizing cone-free conditioner, do not rinse – 3. finally a small amount of oil (i.e. 1 – 3 teaspoons of oil, not handfuls) – 4. Plastic cap and let it sit a few minutes or even better sit under a hooded dryer for 10 – 15 minutes – 5. Rinse under warm water with a little conditioner applied on top, while rinsing.

      Please see my regimen and other posts for more details and let me know if it helps.

      PS _ You may want to use a light oil such as jojoba, grapeseed or even EVOO. Make sure your shampoo is not too stripping and that your applying it only to your scalp/roots and not your ends.

  4. I tried OR…it seemed nice with olive oil…for the one time I did it. I buy Spectrum Organic Olive Oil and I really need to find some in bulk, otherwise I can’t afford it. I really do need to try it again. I also need a heat appliance badly for penetration.

Leave a Reply

