Let’s Make a List: Cheap Effective Drug Store Conditioners

Hi Everyone! Hope you are all having a lovely Sunday and wonderful Mother’s Day with your little ones or with your Mommies! I thought it would be fun to start a group list of wonderful drug store conditioners that work well on your low porosity hair. I’ll start by reviewing a couple and would love for you to shout out your suggestions in the comments section. Remember, I don’t live in the US, so to help your fellow readers, your comments would be greatly appreciated. The conditioners shouldn’t cost more than 8 dollars.

Suave Almond and Shea Butter Conditioner – less than $3

product image

I bought this on the spur of moment, on a trip back home. So happy with that choice. This conditioner has AMAZING slip. A little goes a long way and it actually works quite nicely as a co-wash, detangler and deep conditioner. Detangling is a breeze with this conditioner, I apply it to my hair in four sections and watch in amazement as my wide tooth comb glides through my hair. At less than three dollars a bottle, it’s worth a try! I give it 5 out of 5 stars!

Aussie Moist Conditioner – less than $5

product image

I’m never gonna quit you Aussie Moist. I’ve never tried their shampoos, but this conditioner is amazing! I use it for everything from detangling to deep conditioning and sometimes I use a little on my ends for moisture. I love this stuff, the smell, the consistency and the fact that it always yields remarkable results. Definitely a product that will stay in my rotation. I give it 5 out of 5 stars!

Cantu Shea Butter Rinse Out Conditioner – less than $5

Rinse Out Conditioner

I love this conditioner as a deep conditioner. It’s very moisturizing and smells great! It doesn’t have an insane amount of slip, so you might have to detangle with a conditioner that offers more slip. However, after sitting under the dryer with this in my hair, it feels soft and supple. I give it 4 out of 5 starts!

Tressemé Naturals with aloe and avocado – less than $6

product image

First of all, you get bang for your buck with this conditioner. It’s huge, 25 fl. oz and less than six dollars is a steal! This conditioner smells great. I think it is a perfect co-wash, detangler and styler in the summer. Sometimes I dilute it with a little water and use is as a leave-in (in the summer). I rarely use it as a deep conditioner, unless I doctor it up with olive oil and honey. I give this conditioner 4 out of 5 stars for its versatility!

Have you tried any of the above? Now on to you, please share your favorite cheap drug store conditioners that you can’t live without!

13 thoughts on “Let’s Make a List: Cheap Effective Drug Store Conditioners

  1. I like the Suave Humectant and Almond and Shea Butter. I love the Tresseme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner. I want to try some other conditioners from Tresemme Naturals.

  2. I have used Tresseme Naturals in the past with good results. I love Herbal Essenes Hello Hydration Conditioner for detangling my hair. It provides amazing slip and its cheap.

  3. How does the Aloe in these conditioners effect your hair (Tresemme, Suave, and Aussie)? … Sometimes my hair loves these conditioners and sometimes it doesn’t, but I definitely always go back to Tresemme Naturals regardless and I find that they all work best after I apply a shot of protein to my hair so i’m guessing my hair was probably over moisturized.

    • The aloe in the Tresemme Naturals is so far down on the ingredient list that it doesn’t have an effect on my hair. I think aloe is fine as long as its not a main ingredient.

      • I agree. I think it’s a minimal amount of aloe in the conditioners. Do what feels right for your hair and try to switch up your conditioners to keep your hair “on it’s toes”.

  4. I would add (based on the response of my thick, course, and low porosity strands) Nature’s Gate Aloe Moisturizing Conditioner. After wondering whether or not Aloe should play a regular part in my hair regimen, I returned to this conditioner after taking some time off to try other products – like Aussie Moist, Tresseme Naturals, Hello Hydration – all of which I like a lot. However, without a doubt I’d have to rank Nature’s Gate as the leader of the pack. It has been the best conditioner for detangling and slip. After 3 weeks of constant use – I can see an feel the difference in my hair. I am finding it to be an incredible daily conditioner. It has a wonderful and light scent as well.

    • Great! Thanks for sharing!! I think at most the amount of aloe the conditioners contain is quite minimal. I too use conditioners with aloe as an ingredient and they yield great results. Whereas I can’t apply aloe directly to my hair. I’ll have to try out your recommendations.

  5. I was able to use that tresemme all throughout my transition and then for a few months natural to detangle like a dream but when i bought 2 new bottles I noticed my it would just sit on top and tangle my hair…then I tried aussie moist [the huge bottle] and after two washes realized it did the same thing and now I just bought that suave one today actually lol I plan on doing a baking soda mixture with it, hopefully my hair likes it….great blog btw!<3

    • Hi! Do you shampoo or only cowash? Not all products work similarly on our hair. However, you did mention you use castor oil. I think I read once to remove it from the hair you have to clarify/shampoo sometimes. Let me know how the suave works for you and if you apply baking soda, you only need a small amount. Do you rinse with warn water and deep condition?

      • hey [= so i kinda decided the recommended 2tbsp wasn’t enough prior and od’d on the baking soda >.< but i only left it in for 30min but overall it helped, somewhat. my hair swallowed up the suave conditioner so i'm happy about that and much less frizzy and takes at least 50% less time to dry….but on the down side, i noticed when i bc'd that a lot of my top side section consist of wavy hair and now it barely curls and is very frizzy in that section now :[ the rest is tightly curly and they loosened up but are still very curly and frizz-less, do you think i should add protein to the wavy part? i always rinse with warm/hot water, thanks!

      • How much did you use lol. You’d be surprised a little goes a long way. It’s the ph you’re changing. Regardless of the amount, the soda will slightly raise the PH.
        I’d say see how your hair feels after your next wash. I’ve heard of people reporting slightly looser hair, but that it’s temporary. If you feel during your next wash (w/out soda) it’s still the case, add in a light protein.
        But really try to start with an small amount. It’s very important that all the soda is rinsed out from the hair. See my additional links on baking soda rinsing: http://cushblog.com/2012/04/hydrating-low-porosity-hair-its-all-about-the-energy-baby-technically-speaking/.
        This article suggests neutralizing the soda with green tea (probably less harsh than lemon or ACV). This might be worth a try, esp since you might have used a large amount.
        For frizz maybe a light oil might help. If your hair feels dry, you may want to do a light protein and DC.

  6. thanks for replying so fast! okay so I bought aubrey organics gpb a while ago and it worked fine but i stopped using it because i realized i didn’t need any protein, I’m gonna leave it in for 30min hopefully it helps, thanks for the article!

Leave a Reply

