Lo-po’s BFF: Rhassoul Clay Mud Wash

Rhassoul clay can be used to make an inexpensive, all natural, cleansing and conditioning hair wash. I use this as my shampoo and conditioner about 2 – 3 times per month. It makes my hair soft, tangle free, shiny and helps revive my curls and kinks. I usually apply this wash on a Sunday, when I can just take my time and not feel rushed. The great thing about this product is that a little goes a long way and you usually don’t need to follow with a conditioner.

A little information on rhassoul clay:
It’s a natural mineral clay found in the Atlas Mountains in Morocco. It’s known for its cleansing properties. It has been used since the 8th century as a beauty product for skin and hair!

It is made of:

silica 58%
aluminum 2.47%
Irons 0.64%
sodium 2.3%
magnesium 25.2%
calcium 2.34%

Silica has been shown to help reduce hair loss and aid in growth, by regenerating cell growth and strengthening the connective tissue of the hair, skin and nails. Rhassoul clay is made up of more than 50% of silica! magnesium has also been shown to decrease hair loss. I’ve used rhassoul clay for almost a year now and I love the results.

How I apply and mix it:

  1. **About 5 TBSP of rhassoul clay, Mixed with about 7- 10 TBSP of water (amount will vary depending on hair’s length and thickness. You don’t want the mixture to be thick like a pancake mixture nor watery. My mixture is usually on the thinner side, so I can spread it, but it’s not runny.
  2. I then add 1-2 tsps of vinegar or aloe. I’ve tried this mixture without adding vinegar or aloe and it resulted in dry hair. So from now on this is how I mix it.
  3. (Optional) I mix in a little tea tree oil and about 1 TBSP of Brahmi or Vatika oil and mix it well.
  4. I split my hair into 4 sections, dampen it and either in the tub or leaning over the tub (it can get messy), I apply the rhassoul clay to each section. I do not rub it into the hair, but gently apply it to my hair, being sure to coat the entire section with a small amount.
  5. I detangle my hair at this point or do it after in the shower.
  6. Put on a plastic bag/cap and let it sit for 20 – 30 minutes, rinse out the clay with warm water (detangling each section if I haven’t done so already). When the water runs clear and you’ve rinsed your hair well, you’re done.
  7. Your hair should feel soft and strong. If you’d like or if your hair still feels a bit dry, you can lightly condition your ends with a moisturizing shampoo.

** Never mix clays in a metal bowl nor metal utensils.

Sources:
Wikipedia
Mountain Rose
Live Strong

I live abroad, so buy my rhassoul clay in Europe, however you can buy rhassoul clay from:
http://www.mountainroseherbs.com
It’s a one lb bag and will probably last you over a year. It costs 9 dollars, so that’s basically .16 cents a week!

I’ve also heard positive things about Anita Grant’s Mud Wash. It’s a lot costlier than buying a bag and mixing it yourself, however, if you’re not a mix-tress, it may be a better option for you.

-https://anitagrant.com/

Have you tried rhassoul clay?

39 thoughts on “Lo-po’s BFF: Rhassoul Clay Mud Wash

  1. Thank you for this post. I’m going to try this on my daughter’s lo-po hair. Have you ever tried castile soap on your hair?

    • Hi! Thx for stopping by. I’ve never tried castille soap, I plan on picking some up this summer when I go to the States. Have you tried it? I’ve heard mixed reviews. Let me know how the rhassoul clay works out for your daughter.

      • Yes, I tried Dr. Bonner’s castile soap on my daughter’s hair. It’s great to remove the build up and get the hair really clean, but I find it’s best followed with a good conditioner. I tested it on my son’s short hair without a deep conditioner and it just left his hair very dry. I will use it as a clarifying shampoo to remove heavy build-up or post swimming to remove chlorine, but I won’t use it on a regular basis. I’m having trouble finding the rhassoul clay where I live in Toronto, Canada. I’ll have to try to get it online because I’m anxious to try it out. I’ll let you know when I do.

      • Yes, I’ve heard other people say that about Dr. Bonner’s. Like you said, it’s probably a good clarifier and best used occasionally. I’m not sure whether Mountain Rose ships internationally. I think you’ll find it easily online. There is also Terresentials Mudwash, which uses betonite clay and a lot of people rave about it. It could be nice if you’re busy and don’t have time to whip up your own mixtures. http://www.terressentials.com/haircare.html

  2. Thank you for a wonderful, informative, well-written blog. I followed your recipe and my tightly-coiled, super-shrinky hair came out soft, shiny (gasp!), looser, and detangled without a comb or any other product.

    Your hair is gorgeous and again, thank you! This is the ONLY product I’ll use to wash my hair from now on.

    • Thank you for your kind words *blushes* and for sharing! I’m happy if any of the information on the blog helps someone out there! Rhassoul clay is amazing, I’m actually running low and need to reorder! Can’t be caught without it.

  3. I love your blog, you give great information and inspiration…love your hair too. Have you heard or tried Terressentials Mud Wash? It really defined my curls

    • Hi! Thanks for the lovely compliments! I try to share what has helped me in hopes that it will be of use to another LP haired person.
      I haven’t tried Terressentials yet, but I have heard wonderful feedback about it. Would you like to do a review on it for the blog or if you have a review already on your blog, would you like to share?

  4. So I just tried ur exact recipe of the rhassoul clay wash. I must say it left my hair so soft and nice… Plus it cuts washing time becos no Pre-pooing. It was so good that I did a tea rinse that usually leaves my hair dry and stiff but this time it didn’t. Thanks for the tip.

  5. Rhassoul clay for hair is amazing! My hair used to shed every time I would use a regular shampoo and the Rhassoul gives it strength, softness, clean and tangle free (what else can you ask for?). I found mine at http://www.newdirectionsaromatics.ca/. I mix the clay with water, rosehip oil, lemon essential oil too at times.

  6. Firstly let me start by saying, thank you so much for this amazing blog. Secondly your hair is just so amazing. Wanted to ask, what kind of vinegar you use? After applying the clay mix while you wait do you use heat before washing off? Also is it ok to follow with a deep conditioning treatment?

    • Hi thanks so much! I’m happy you like the blog. I typically use apple cider vinegar, organic is good but really any apple cider vinegar should do the trick. I don’t heat the rhassoul mix, simply plastic cap and let it sit 20-30m. If you’d like you could follow with a DC. I do sometimes but find I rarely need to after the rhassoul application.

  7. Hello!! Thank you so much for setting up this blog! I’ve been reading through your archives for the past couple of hours and my hair is finally beginning to make sense!! I am based in Europe too. Can you tell me where you order your Rhassoul from? I’m trying to find a reputable store to make sure I get the right stuff. Thanxx

  8. Okay. I really love my clay hair masque adventures. However, I’m switching from Bentonite Clay to Rhassoul Clay pronto. I’ll order some today. I see it on many sites and the price varies, but I’m concerned about quality. I will certainly get some!!

  9. Hi. Thanks so much for the info. I’m gathering my supplies to try this shortly. One question. Do you think brahmi powder would have the same benefit as the oil?

    • Hi! Thanks for your comment. I’ve never used Brahmi powder, so it’s tough to say. I don’t use Brahmi oil a lot only occassionally in my reverse oil rinses. I’d imagine you’d get the same benefit.

  10. Thank you for this blog it is right on time for me. Have you tried mixing your clay with coconut milk instead of vinegar or aloe? Just wondering because normally both vinegar and Aloe are drying to lo-po hair.

    • A year later, but better late than never. For some reason your comment was never approved, apologies. I’ve never mixed rhassoul clay with coconut milk. If you give it a try please let me know how it works. I never apply pure vinegar or aloe to my hair, but think the combination of it with rhassoul clay is not drying. The science behind this, I have no idea. HTH

  11. Does your vinegar have the mother? I can’t tell from the picture. I have been reading a lot about this clay but after recently using henna with terrible hard hair as a result, I am a little skeptical. ACV rinses made my hair feel terrible as well so I’m nervous about them as well. But I need to do something because my hair is just so dry, no matter how much I DC.

    • Hi! That particular one might have, but any bottle of ACV will do the trick when mixing it with rhassoul. I only mix in a small amount (e.g. 1 – 2 tsps). You could try it without the ACV if you’re nervous and see how you like it.
      I highly recommend this clay for low porosity hair, it’ll help you open up those cuticles and let the moisture in. Henna’s goal is to coat the hair strand, which in my opinion isn’t great for lo-po hair.

Leave a Reply

