Lo-Po’s BFF: Healthy Heat

As mentioned in an earlier post, there are certain techniques that have worked remarkably on my low porosity hair. Three of the techniques I listed were: warm conditioners, deep conditioners with heat and warm water rinses. They all have one thing in common: the use of heat. Heat is a friend of low porosity hair.  I don’t mean flat-iron or curling iron heat, but using a little steam and heat during your cleansing routine. Remember, the trick with this hair porosity is slightly lifting the cuticle to welcome moisture into our hair shaft.

I used to baggy for days. For those of you who aren’t familiar with baggying, it’s basically, leaving a plastic cap on your hair for several hours or overnight and using your body heat to provide a deep conditioning effect. This did nothing for my hair, but make it mushy and limp.

What helps me in my deep conditioning process is using heat and steam.

1. Warm conditioner

Squeeze conditioner in a container, place the container in a sink of hot water for about 10-15 minutes and apply the conditioner to your hair. This can help lift your cuticles and moisturize your hair.

2. Rinse your hair with warm, not lukewarm or cold water.

Cold water rinses are all the rave, because they seal the cuticle and impart shine. This may work for most people, but for low porosity hair, this just locks out moisture. Before you condition your hair, wet it with warm/very warm — not hot, water.

3. Deep condition with heat

Sit under your steamer if you’re lucky enough to have one. I use a soft bonnet dryer. I apply my deep conditioner, cover it with a plastic cap and sit under the dryer for 30 -40 minutes. If you don’t have a dryer or steamer, simply use a towel. Wet it with very warm water, wring out about 50 percent of the water, wrap it around your hair and cover your hair with a plastic cap or bag for about 10 – 15 minutes.

4. Another tip that I forgot to mention is applying a medium amount of heat after applying a leave-in to your hair. When I style my hair, I apply a little heat from my blow dryer for about 15 minutes. This helps my hair absorb the leave-in or light oils that I use.

Remember, for low porosity hair, heat during the conditioning phase is key.

How do you condition your hair, what tips and tricks work for you?

Upcoming Posts:

Rhassoul Clay Lo-Po BFF ( I will discuss how I apply it and show pics of my results)

LoPo’s Frenemies: Kimmaytube Leave-In, cold water/vinegar rinses and heavy oils

Check out: My regimen

3 thoughts on “Lo-Po’s BFF: Healthy Heat

  1. I’m really appreciating this healthy heat post. I’ve always felt that heat could help my hair, but I used the wrong type when I did use heat. I’m going to Sally’s….or on eBay. I will pull out my blow dryer again too.

    Which leave-in do you use, please?

Leave a Reply

