Calling All Low Porosity Beauties

Do you have low porosity hair? I want to hear your voices! If you would like to be featured on this blog, please send me an email with the following:

Subject: lopo feature

  1. In 50 words or less describe yourself (such as: name, what you do, personality, hobbies).
  2. Describe your hair and regimen.
  3. How do you maintain healthy hair?
  4. Have you any encountered challenges/problems with low porosity hair? If so what?
  5. Any tips on caring for low porosity hair?

Look forward to your entries!

8 thoughts on “Calling All Low Porosity Beauties

  1. Pingback: Wanted! Your product reviews or hair stories! | lowporosityhaircare

  2. I recently learned I have low po hair and I am really struggling, I feel like it’s impossible to keep my hair healthy. I would like to be able to contribute one day if I can come up with a regimen that promotes healthy hair growth and length retention. My ends are healthy right now but on the sidelines I have some breakage going on and I cannot get it to stop.

    • Thanks for your comment! Any contribution helps.This is a platform to talk about problems, successes, failures, tips, ask questions, etc. Feel free to submit reader questions, so that maybe other readers can help you on your growth regimen. All the best!

  3. Hi, I just wanted to say thank you very much for creating and MAINTAINING this blog, I could only imagine how much work it takes while balancing other life activities. It has been really helpful to read through everything from your last blog to this one, I love the amount of details and nuances you have documented in your hair journey bc this has been my most helpful resource and I have devoured the online community for info…lol. So many thanks sincerely.

    I wore my naturally curly hair for 4 years in college and then decided to get to perm and I stayed relaxed for about 2 years. I decided to relax due to a HUGE lack of information and back in 2009 there was not natural products in the stores except for a few, not this many blogs, youtube videos, etc. available.

    I decided to go back natural last July since I had recently been eating a vegan diet and transitioning to using all natural household and personal items. I actually cried at the thought of going back natural since the last time was so difficult for me to maintain my hair. I loved the way my hair looked in my fro/twist out, but the convenience of having a perm really fit my lifestyle. When I was natural the first time, I didn’t really think about the ingredients in my products/how my hair responded ( I simply used the same bad product for years – Shea Moisture smoothie even though it made my hair greasy, matted), I used to flat iron my hair all of the time and get it pressed/flat ironed/and blow dried at the salon, I used to comb/try to detangle my hair dry, and sometimes I literally wouldn’t even detangle my hair bc I didnt have to when my hair was straight…lol. My hair basically fell out a lot, was always shedding, and I really didn’t know how to take care of it and it was extremely frustrating to not to be able to even comb through my hair at times bc it matted so bad. I didn’t even know the importance of stretching and twisting my hair to keep it detangled,lol. I mean I literally had zero knowledge and information and had not even seen a black woman with natural hair on TV or in person until I went to college in 2009.

    However, I decided to go back natural last year and promised myself that I would put more energy and effort into my hair. I also wanted to hold myself accountable to my vision of a more a holistic, natural view of my health, which extends to my haircare. I basically BC’d last July and loved my short curls. This time, I did more experimentation with products, read my ingredients, tried different styles, and did ALOT of more research. I also didn’t put ANY heat on my hair (in/direct), learned about detangling, washing in sections, not detangling on my dry hair with a comb…lol, etc. It has not been a steep hill in terms of learning about my hair, but a WALL that I have had to hit several times again and again…lol.

    Now I have very healthy, mid length natural hair that is truly thriving. I am still learning more about my hair now and at times it is truly frustrating. I have approx. 4a hair, naturally frizzy, very thick in density, very low porosity, very naturally dry hair that LOVES water, and fine strands. This second experience has been EXTREMELY more successful than my first time I transitioned. Some things I have learned about my hair that could possibly be useful for other people with a similar hair type include:

    – I wore my hair in an afro the first couple of months because it was so short and loved how easy and fast it was to do my hair/wash it, etc. So its great to definitely appreciate this stage. When I realized how much my hair grew, I really was shocked bc I hadn’t focused on length but my health instead and learning about my hair. I then started to wear my hair in twists only which I think also assisted in my growth bc my hair was always put away and it was low manipulation. I wore twists primary for their low maintenance because I would spend about 3-4 hours every night re-twisting my hair to maintain my twist out.

    – I learned that my hair LOVES water and needs daily mist at least twice a day, in the morning and night and to not completely wet my hair. I also found that vegetable glycerin keeps my hair moisturized longer than anything, from about 7am-5pm and then from about 6pm when I get home from work until the next morning, which is unheard of for my hair. So I am really excited about VG.

    – It reduces tangles, frizz, and holds better styles when I stretch with curlformers prior to twisting my hair. My twists on wet unstretched hair resulted in an enormous amount of frizz, tangles, and my twists would unravel at the top at least 1-3 inches and wouldn’t complete hold.

    – My hair does NOT like aloe vera gel/juice (doesn’t do anything/help my hair,etc; causes my hair to foam), any butters OR oils (even really light oils) OR puddings, OR custards OR creams OR milks (shea, mango; it results in dryness, matting, greasiness, heaviness, weighs my hair down completely, etc), products that are filled with unnecessary flower extracts/have that light “conditionery” texture and appearance like Giovanni products’ texture (they make my hair hard, but gives curl def.; I tried Design Essentials leave in conditioner and Dove Intense Repair rinse out conditioner and noticed this response); any gels ( I used Design Essentials “naturals” honey gel and it made my hair hard even when I used a little and combined with oils; however during my first journey I used a styling product called “Shine”, its softer than gel and was blue and my hair was much softer and had good curl definition, however I didn’t use it in my new hair journey because it contained mineral oil.).

    – I used mostly natural products for the duration of my recent hair journey, however I am unsure if it really contributed to my growth and health. My products had alot of hydro. proteins in them (shampoo and masque), while I liked how strong my hair felt and how I had less breakage (I really didn’t have any breakage, minimal shedding when styling), I feel like it contributed to my dryness, hair becoming brittle, etc. and was too much for my hair. However, I feel that wanting all natural products have caused my new journey to be alot more complicated due to unqiue hair traits and likes/dislikes and limited variety in ingredients in natural products available. But, I still feel like my hair would have done well even if I used and found commercial products that worked well with my hair and I still maintained a good regimen/technique.

    – It has been really hard for me to find natural alternatives for my hair since nearly all “natural” products contain oils and butters. Therefore, I am planning to start using a rhassoul clay wash and acv for my scalp for cleansing. (I was using Shea Moisture Yucca shampoo and tried their Raw Shea Butter shampoo, but felt the products dried my hair out) I also plan to add a variety of conditioning ingredients to my clay wash (bannanas,or advocadoes, VG, and honey) to see if I can make a moisturizing, conditioning cleansing process and to save time by doing only one wash/conditioning process. If the clay does fine on its own re: conditioning, then I will simply use that. I have discovered my hair doesnt like leave in, store brought moisturizers, stylers and prefers nothing really but water/VG, so going fwd I am not using any leave ins, etc. They weigh my hair down even when water based, oils are later in the ingred. list, etc (This makes sense to me bc I didn’t put products in my hair when I wore it relaxed). I have used Shea Moisture Yucca Masque as a DC (HORRIBLE experience, too much protein/coconut oil acts like protein too/my hair hates coconut oil/all of the butters in this masque-my hair felt so rough and it damaged my ends really badly, but strangely clumped my hair nicely.) and as a styler (this gave me a nice shine and hold and the consistency is great for detangling, however it caused dryness and heaviness).

    -Read ingredients, examine consistency, keep and take notes as reference, and be objective about products you purchase. Make informed decisions. I have found even if I kinda like a product, I need to stop using it if my hair responds badly. This may seem obvious, but the first time I went natural, I used a product and kept using it for 4 years and assumed it was my hair that was causing the issues and not the wrong product selection.

    – I only did finger detangling during my new journey, which I feel is the best way. My wide tooth comb isn’t applicable to my hair now since my tangles are so small. I recently got a denman brush which I have used twice to help me distribute product prior to installing CurlFormers, but my hair is already detangled, so literally only a couple of hairs are left on the brush after doing my entire head.

    -Be clear what your vision is for your natural hair – grow long, focus on health, experiment with more flashier styles, etc. bc it can guide you on your product selection, regimen, etc, but be honest with yourself and try not to compare to anyone else’s hair/get your hair like anyone else’s hair.

    – Research natural hair videos/blogs, but ultimately listen to your hair and do what works best for your hair. Its good to use the info you learn as a base/foundation, but take everything with a grain of salt. The natural hair community is still growing and the masses STILL (people who make the products, consumers, etc) dont know all there is to know about natural black hair. (For an ex: there should be more natural products avail. in stores that dont contain oils/shea butter, but based on the limited info people have about natural hair, oils/butters are in virtually all products, etc.) NO ONE can tell you what works best for your hair, how often to wash, etc. It is a time consuming process of trial and error. I have cried and cried and laughed and been frustrated alot, but its just apart of this process.

    – Do many experiments at once if you can vs doing your entire head. For an example, I once applied my Curl Formers, and I did 5 small experiments in the front and took notes of the order. I did one curl with no oil, the next with oil and leave in, etc. And then I got to see how my hair responded to these different ingredients, etc at once vs doing my entire head with no oil, then waiting a week to try oil and leave in, etc.

    – Be patient with yourself and practice affirmations and understand the social/racial implications of natural black hair specifically/reactions (if this applies to you). I live in the US (a very racist, anti-black country) and I have been subjected to many racist encounters, sometimes resulting in slurs about my hair. These things didn’t really didn’t “hurt” me because I knew who I was and the truth about my hair – that it was beautiful/valuable as anyone else’s hair; the ignorance annoys me, but doesn’t change how I feel about my hair. Dealing with this ignorance has BY FAR been the hardest part of this new journey. I think its good to affirm yourself in an anti-black world that really has nothing to do with the truth about you or your hair.

    – As for my regimen, since I started using CurlFormers (take about 8 hours to install, I have orange/pink, I use all 80), I have decided going forward to wash once a month with clay wash and DIY conditioning ingredients (bananas, avocados, honey, VG, etc), with weekly acv scalp cleaning, weekly retwisting as needed on any frizzy twists, daily moisturizing 2X/day with water/gylcerin, and installing mini twists in my hair once my CurlFormers curls dry (takes about 6 hours) and wear mini twists for the entire month, then repeat. I used to wash approx. every 2 weeks, didn’t condition/DC bc I started using the DC as my styler, then put twists in my hair on wet, unstretched hair (took about 4 hours), and wore chunky twists for 2 weeks, then repeat. This process was much quicker, which is why I did it more often, however due to the time it takes to install CF and mini twists, the thickness/length of my hair, other life commitments, my hair’s ability to still grow/be healthy with wash days spaced apart this far (I’ve noticed this when my hair was relaxed), I am currently testing out this new regimen for the first time and hope it works.

    This was long, but these are the things that come to mind. You can read or share whatever you would like. I just read through your entire blog yesterday and really enjoyed it and wanted to contribute something. I LOVE my hair now and it is so easy to maintain now that I have gained so much more info about it. Its taken alot of commitment, research, and note taking, even about small details about my regimen tweaks to get to this point, but it has been very rewarding and has brought me so much joy and laughter. Hope this helps someone, thanks.

    • Love, love, love this and so happy that you shared what you’ve been doing for your hair. I’m sure it will be very helpful to other readers with a sensitivity to oil. Thanks for all the lovely complements. Would you mind if I reformatted your comment into a hair story post? If you’d like you can include a picture of your hair, but it isn’t necessary.

      • Also, I’m from the States originally and right now the political and social environment there is extremely upsetting and sad. Love your hair, it’s absolutely beautiful. I’m sure I don’t have to say that.

  4. Thanks. I agree with you on the racial climate in the US. I spent all of July literally grieving all of the deaths and the blatant injustice was extremely overwhelming and depressing ( I had to stop following the news)…I really wanted to briefly touch on the social/racial implications of natural black hair and maintaining your self esteem and emotional/mental health as a black woman period (if this applies) and esp. one with natural hair bc I have found that too often, even though I have read countless blogs and watched tons of videos, I have never once read/heard someone really address white supremacy/racism/beauty standards/pressure to conform/self esteem/worthiness/wanting to attract partners/why black women were using relaxers in the first place. (For an example, I have only read interviews about how their friends/family didnt “like” their natural hair, etc, but no real in depth analysis on why they didn’t “like” it, etc.). Although its a very complicated/layered topic and I think black women should have spaces where they don’t have to think/hear about racism,etc, I still believe it needs to be briefly touched on at least bc its a huge elephant in the room. And not touching on it at all and solely focusing on hair implies that black women with natural hair simply live in a bubble where what they look like, their hair, others’ perception of their beauty/value, their identity/blackness has no social implication in their daily lives such as interviewing for jobs, dating, street harassment, etc. It also implies that hair is “just hair” and although technically it is, I don’t think its really truthful and comprehensive bc hair (regardless of your race) is always communicating something to someone (even if it isn’t your intention) and others make beliefs/judgments about it based on the information they have/their background/experiences and at times, their beliefs translates into their behavior, which can have tangible effects on people ‘s lives such as not being hired for a job, being told you need to “do” something to your hair, etc.. I also have realized how emotionally invested I actually am with my hair which really surprised me (which I don’t think is a negative thing bc its literally apart of me) and how much joy I get from it and its not “just hair” for me (although this of course varies for others).

    Of course, you can share anything in a post (It will need some editing bc I type really fast/used alot of shorthand language). I don’t really have a pic, but hopefully it will still be a little helpful. One thing I forgot is that my hair absolutely hated castile soap (Dr. Bronners) as a cleanser and made my hair feel very frizzy, fuzzy, and I felt alot of static in my hair while washing. I read that castile soap has a higher ph and I decided not to use baking soda (also a higher ph and I have experienced an allergic reaction from bs from using too much in my homemade deodorant) as well due to this experience. I learned to try to be mindful about the ph of my products/ingredients (which you can just google to get an estimate or get ph strips) because it can affect how products interact with your hair. However, if you notice your hair does well with these products, its something helpful to note for yourself. I watched a video the other day where a woman said she added alkaline water (she had some alkaline tablets and mixed them with water) to her Kinky Curly Knot Today (because it was too thick for her) and she used this for her leave in. She said that heating up her ingredients didn’t help with her low porosity hair and so she just focused on changing the ph of her products instead. Lastly, I learned that there are lots of differences within women with low porosity hair too, so things that may work for them still may not work for me, but its great to still hear about their regimen and their reasoning behind their regimen/product selection bc it can still help you make more informed choices for yourself. Low porosity has been the most importance aspect of my hair that I know (and far more important than curl pattern) so its great to watch videos from others who are of different racial/ethnic background/different curl pattern/etc. if they too have low porosity hair bc you can still learn something…..Cheers to the journey:):):) Thanks again, take care.

Leave a Reply

